Iowa City Public Library Honors Volunteers

by on April 28th, 2016

The Iowa City Public Library recently honored its volunteers for their dedication and service.

During the 2015 calendar year, 336 volunteers provided more than 9,500 hours of service, increasing the total number of volunteer hours to 260,831 hours since the program started 36 years ago. Volunteer duties range from assisting with book check-ins, materials maintenance, prepping supplies for events, helping plan teen programs, operating The Book End, and serving on the Board of Trustees, and on the Friends Foundation Board of Directors.

On Wednesday, April 27, the Library said thank you with a reception and a ceremony, during which 48 volunteers received recognition awards for achieving milestone hours of service.

Terri Caplan was named the Nancy Sereduck Volunteer of the Year.

A volunteer for eight years, Caplan started at the Library as a book check-in volunteer and moved to The Book End as a store clerk in 2009, volunteering in the store every other week for six years. She joined The Book End Committee of the Iowa City Public Library Friends Foundation in 2011, serving as the co-chairperson from 2012 to 2013. After receiving an ICPL 500 Hour Volunteer Award in 2015, Caplan transitioned to sorting donated materials and restocking shelves at The Book End.

“Terri’s vast knowledge of books, authors, movies, and music, enabled her to provide excellent service to customers in The Book End, and is now utilized to select the best from the thousands of donated items for The Book End,” says Patty McCarthy, ICPL’s Development Director. “Her organizational talents are unmatched, and she helps to maintain order and interest on the bookstore shelves.”

The Library congratulates Caplan on her achievement and thanks all volunteers for their service.

The following is a list of volunteers receiving recognition awards for 2015:

100 Hour Award

  • Fatuma Abdalla
  • Katherine Bouska
  • Susan Bryant
  • Ellen Caplan
  • Jingyi Du
  • Scott Edgar
  • Pam Ehrhardt
  • Jordan Heganman
  • Qian He
  • Valerie Jackson
  • Kathy Keasler
  • Staci Kirsch
  • Dave Lee-Son
  • Stephanie Linnell
  • Anna Luria
  • David Martin
  • Dominic McCaffrey
  • Reilly O’Gorman
  • Sophie Schenkel
  • Jennifer Schmidt
  • Alex Stanton
  • Beth Stence
  • Chris Vincent
  • Chloe Waryan

200 Hour Award

  • Stephen Merkel-Hess
  • Janis Perkins
  • Theo Prineas
  • Patricia Ryan

300 Hour Award

  • Joel Barnhart
  • Beth Beasley
  • Sarah Burnett
  • Linda Eastman
  • Erin Glenn
  • Roxanne Hughes
  • Jeanne Morris
  • Esther Retish
  • Angela Tyler

400 Hour Award

  • Philip Fontana
  • William Moorhead

500 Hour Award

  • Becky Johnson
  • Kathy Mitchell
  • Corey Rew
  • Julie Spencer

1,000 Hour Award

  • Roberta Holstein
  • Emily Nelson
  • Mary New

4,000 Hour Award

  • Gloria Lacina

6,000 Hour Award

  • Nancy Sereduck

Leave a Reply